The Shepperd E-Leader

A publication of the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Changing the Future of Leadership



Check out Photos from the 26th Annual Texas Leadership Forum on our Facebook page.

Also, "like" us to see current news, updates and planning information for the 2012 Forum!

MARK YOUR CALENDARS

Shepperd Distinguished Lecture
Thursday, April 28, 2011
7 PM
UTPB Gymnasium



Featuring: T. Boone Pickens

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW!



Would you like to receive up-to-the minute information regarding leadership events and news? Sign up today for instant news regarding Shepperd Institute events as well as other critical leadership news.



Shepperd Institute Director, Bobby Burns, helps Advisory Council Chair, David Farabee, sign up for Twitter alerts at the 2011 Texas Leadership Forum.

If you want to:

Follow The Shepperd Public Leadership Institute on Twitter™ Create a personal account on **twitter.com**

Then:

 When setting up your account, you will be prompted to "find friends". Our user name is <u>LeadTexas</u>. Simply choose to "follow" us!

Receive SMS **text message alerts** sent

from The Shepperd Institute's Twitter™ account directly to your cell phone.

- 1. Text "follow LeadTexas" to 40404.
- You will receive a confirmation notice. You DO NOT need a Twitter™ account for this feature!





Institute Staff

Robert Burns
Director

Dr. Karen C. JohnsonAssociate Director

Dr. Carol TrautProfessor

Shannon Hernandez Senior Program Coordinator

Valorie Rogers
Senior Program Coordinator

Nellwyn Barnett Event Coordinator

Shelly Pope Administrative Assistant

Phone - 432-552-2850 Fax - 432-552-2851

theinstitute@utpb.edu

http://shepperd.utpb.edu

The Shepperd E-Leader

A publication of the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Changing the Future of Leadership

THANK YOU!

The staff of the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute would like to thank the following individuals, groups and businesses for contributing to the success of the 2011 Texas Leadership Forum:

The 2011 Texas Leadership Forum Planning Team

<u> </u>		
David Weaver <i>Chair</i>	Jonathan Amdur <i>Chair Elect</i>	Rhonda Lewallen Immediate Past Chair
Stacey Amdur	Austin Burns	Lewis Busbee
Jason Denny	Trey Gerhart	Sarah Jackson
Seth Plunk	Spencer Sharp	Michael Swindle
Seth Tullar	Andy Webb	Brian Wright



Our Sponsors

Sam Ch David Weaver

hase Law Office	TR
and Pat Long-Weaver	TR
	Mistra

Corky and Linda Bosworth

The Family of Reneé Henderson Earls

Emily L. Kleine, LLC

Representative Tryon D. Lewis

Little Barn Video Productions

The City of Midland

Midland County Commissioners' Court

Permian Basin Petroleum Association

Senator Kel Seliger

Breakout Session Speakers

Cliff Angelo	Jackie Bese	Ed Burbach
Dwight Burns	Steve Cook	Ramona Curtis
Dr. Pat Forgione	Rep. Pete Gallego	Lee Anna Good
Dr. David Hamilton	John James	Dr. Karen C. Johnson
Col. John Kennedy	Danny Koch	Rep. Tryon D. Lewis
Pat Long-Weaver	Jim Nuse	Hon. Jerry Patterson
Nina Perales	Ross Ramsey	Rick Rhodes
Art Roberts	Valorie Rogers	Sen. Kel Seliger
Chas Semple	Hon. John Sharp	Evan Smith

Robert Swafford Dr. Carol Traut

The Outstanding Texas State and Local Leader Award Winners

Representative Tom Craddick Reneé Henderson Earls

The 2011 Outstanding Texas State and Local Leader Award Judging Panel

Mr. Sam Chase Mr. David Farabee Chancellor Kent Hance Ms. Rhonda Lewallen Mr. Dan Stansbury Dr. Carol Ann Traut

The John Ben Shepperd Advisory Council

and

Dr. W. David Watts President of the University of Texas of the Permian Basin



Advisory Council

The Honorable David Farabee, Chairman

Aten Cesante "A.C." Alrey The Honorable Joseph Connally Jennifer Fox Glen Hackler Greg Herzog Dovie Jackson Grace King Danny Koch

The Honorable Tryon Lewis Ace Pickens Keith Purvis Chas Semple Ben Shepperd Don Shinn

The Honorable Joe Shuster Daniel W. Stansbury Keith Stretcher Dr. Nalin Tolia Mike Walls John Wilfert

EX OFFICIO

Art Roberts

EMERITUS

Glenn Biggs Sam Chase Tom Clarke Jerry Love Gem Meacham Timothy Patrick O'Brien Luther Snell

Foundation

Dan Stansbury President

Richard Battle

Sherwood Blount

Sam Chase Tom Clarke Tieman "Tee" Dippel III Wayne T. Franke Sean Healy Jerry Love Suzanne McIntosh Art Roberts James Shelton Ben Shepperd Janet Spies Dathan Voelter Mike Walls