The Shepperd E-Leader

A publication of the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Changing the Future of Leadership

The Women Behind the Words: Shaping a Leader's Voice

Shepperd Distinguished Lecture guests, Dee Dee Myers and Peggy Noonan, have an acute understanding of the power of words. Not only have they helped others to shape powerful political messages, but each has harnessed the power of communication to enlighten, persuade and engage the American people through the spoken and written word.

Dee Dee Myers is a political analyst and commentator. Currently, she is a contributing editor to *Vanity Fair* and a popular lecturer on politics, the media and women's issues. Myers



served as White House Press Secretary during President Clinton's first term. She was the first woman and one of the youngest people to ever hold that job.



Peggy Noonan is a widely admired columnist for The Wall Street Journal and the best-selling author of eight books on American politics, history and culture. Noonan was a

special assistant to President Ronald Reagan from 1984 to 1986. In 1988 she was chief speechwriter for Vice President George H. W. Bush when he ran for the presidency.

Thursday
October 14, 2010
7 PM
UTPB Gymnasium
Moderated by Senator Kel Seliger

For more information, Please call 432-552-2850

Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can't, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it. -- Robert Frost

Shepperd Institute Celebrates With an Open House and Ribbon Cutting

The Mayors of Odessa and Midland were both on hand as the Institute celebrated its new home at the Presidential Museum in Odessa, Texas. Each also issued official proclamations declaring Thursday,



September 30, 2010, to be John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute Day

for their respective cities. State Representative Tryon Lewis also spoke, commenting on John Ben Shepperd's role as one of the early supporters of the Presidential Museum. Director of the Museum and former Assistant Director of the Shepperd Institute, Charles Cotton, praised the move as a "natural fit" that would benefit both entities.

Dr. David Watts, President of UT Permian Basin, commended Juan Alcantar, President of the Museum's Board of Directors and Bobby Burns, Director of the Shepperd Institute, for their efforts to "seal the deal" on this collaboration.

Members of Midland Chamber of Commerce's "M Squad" and Ambassadors from the Odessa Chamber of Commerce conducted a ribbon cutting ceremony to honor the occasion.







Institute Staff

Robert Burns
Director

Dr. Karen C. JohnsonAssociate Director

Dr. Carol TrautProfessor

Shannon Hernandez Senior Program Coordinator

Valorie Rogers Senior Program Coordinator

> Nellwyn Barnett Event Coordinator

Shelly Pope Administrative Assistant

Contact

Phone - 432-552-2850 Fax - 432-552-2851

theinstitute@utpb.edu

http://shepperd.utpb.edu

The Shepperd E-Leader

A publication of the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Changing the Future of Leadership



John Ben Shepperd Wants YOU!

Anyone who knew our namesake, Texas Attorney General John Ben Shepperd, knew that when he asked you to do something...you did it! Under his guidance, the Texas Leadership Forum was started more than a quarter of a century ago. We need your help to make the 26th Annual Texas Leadership Forum the best ever. Please visit our registration webpage at www.tlf2011.eventbrite.com and use the links near the top of the page to help spread the word!

You can invite via email or share on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn!

This year's volunteer Leadership Team has already lined up an incredible slate of breakout session speakers including:



Senator Kel Seliger

Texas Legislature

Representative Pete Gallego

Texas Legislature

Ms. Deirdre Delisi

Chair, Texas Transportation Commission

The Honorable Jerry Patterson

Texas Land Commissioner

Mr. Dwight Burns

Executive Director, Texas Public Finance Authority

Representative Tryon Lewis

Texas Legislature

The Honorable John Sharp

Former Texas Comptroller

Mr. Ross Ramsey

Managing Editor, The Texas Tribune

Mr. Jim Nuse, PE

City Manager, Round Rock, Texas

Ms. Ramona Curtis

Director for Leader Development and Civic Engagement, Baylor University

And many, many more! This year's forum will also feature keynote speakers **Donna Brazile** of CNN and **Douglas Brinkley**, noted presidential historian. Plus, participants will have several networking opportunities to connect with speakers, Leadership Team members and each other.

Who: The Best and the Brightest!

In other words, YOU!

What: The 26th Annual Texas Leadership Forum

When: January 12 -14, 2011

Where: The Hyatt Lost Pines Resort near

Austin, Texas

Why: The Texas Leadership Forum offers

an unparalleled leadership training experience at an incomparable value!

Please visit our partner site, The Texas Tribune*, for up-to-the-minute coverage in Texas Politics!



*The Texas Tribune is a non-profit, nonpartisan public media organization.

Advisory Council

The Honorable David Farabee, Chairman

Aten Cesante "A.C." Alrey The Honorable Joseph Connally Jennifer Fox Glen Hackler Greg Herzog Dovie Jackson Grace King Danny Koch The Honorable Tryon Lewis Ace Pickens Keith Purvis Chas Semple Ben Shepperd Don Shinn The Honorable Joe Shuster Daniel W. Stansbury Keith Stretcher

EX OFFICIO

Dr. Nalin Tolia

Mike Walls John Wilfert

Art Roberts

EMERITUS

Glenn Biggs
Sam Chase
Tom Clarke
Jerry Love
Gem Meacham
Timothy Patrick O'Brien
Luther Snell

Foundation

Dan Stansbury President

Richard Battle
Sherwood Blount
Sam Chase
Tom Clarke
Tieman "Tee" Dippel III
Wayne T. Franke
Sean Healy
Jerry Love
Suzanne McIntosh
Art Roberts
James Shelton
Ben Shepperd
Janet Spies
Dathan Voelter
Mike Walls